Taking the leap

by

I have been thinking about startups and talking about creating one with my co-founder for years. Ben for a awhile now has not been an employee and yesterday I joined his ranks. After my last day at my old job, we took the final leap, we have no income. We now are a registered LLC, in the trademark process, working out the final operating agreements.
I have been asked by some friends, ‘Are you scared?’ Yes! It certainly is scary, but it is far more exhilarating. ‘How does it feel?’ Honestly I feel like a new man. I’m Shaking off the shackles of a way of life I wasn’t comfortable with, a working situation that I just didn’t feel like I fit in to. I doubt it, but perhaps after the next few months, founding a start up won’t feel right either. I still feel like I will have learned a lot, and at least taken my shot at it. I try to live life with few regrets, if it doesn’t work out at least I won’t be questioning if I ever just gave it a shot. My college application essays were essentially: I need to get into engineering school so I can start a software company. I guess I will dream no more, paraphrasing my co-founder who put said, ‘We are living the life, this is it, this is the dream.’
Taking our leap, with no more real safety nets, I am just finally happy to be past all the talking, hoping, and what ifs. I am worried, stressed, happy, excited, full of hope, unsure, and wouldn’t want it any other way. Now we wake up each day and work on creating something entirely new. Feel free to follow along with us, same bat-time, same bat-channel.

One Response to “Taking the leap”

  1. Mike Girenko Says:

    Good luck! Honestly, I do not think I would be able to do what you did-leave stable, well-paying job (well, I am not sure about well paying:)) and start something totally new and pretty much unknown.
    Good luck again.
    Mike Girenko

Leave a Reply

