One small step…

by

We officially released version 0.1 of our web app today to a very small number of friends and family. If you haven’t been contacted, please don’t take it personally – we wanted to get the site a little more polished before we showed it to everyone (it’s really ugly right now).
I will say this – it was a big rush watching the server logs as the first users (besides Dan and I) started playing around on the site. I was completely fascinated for a good 45 min. anxiously wondering which page they would visit next.
All in all, this first iteration went well. We wrote a lot of important features and the site is coming together nicely. I think the biggest issue was that it took more than a week to get the code into shape and release it. I’d really like to get that down to just two days or less. That’s almost entirely a function of our tests (which are good, but still need a lot of work in my opinion) and our deployment automation (I need to take a weekend and work through Pragmatic Project Automation).
Onto the next release…

4 Responses to “One small step…”

  1. Dylan Says:

    Congrats on the release. I hope I’m in the next release πŸ™‚

  2. Dylan Says:

    Congrats on the release. I hope I’m in the next release πŸ™‚

  3. Dylan Says:

    So you can remove my second post. This comment thing should really dismiss when I post a comment :-). But I am sure you have better things to do.

  4. Ben Says:

    Nah, I’d rather keep your comments around so I can make fun of you in the future.
    Thanks for the congrats. You’ll be seeing the site soon enough, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

